Class 3 Social Studies

Delhi – Class 3

Delhi – For Class 3

Delhi is the capital of India. It was one of the seven Union Territories of India, now known as the National Capital Territory. Delhi is situated on the banks of the river Yamuna. It is bordered by Uttar Pradesh in the east and Haryana on the other three sides.
Delhi consists of two cities – Old Delhi and New Delhi. Mughal emperor Shahjahan built his capital at Delhi and called it Shahjahanabad. This part of Delhi is now called Old Delhi. New Delhi was built by the British when they shifted their capital from Kolkata to Delhi.

Important Offices in Delhi

Indian Parliament

Indian Parliament

All the important offices and residences of the Government of India and Government of Delhi are located in Delhi. Some important offices and residences are given below.
1. Rashtrapati Bhavan is in Delhi where President of India lives. The Rashtrapati Bhavan has beautiful gardens called Mughal Gardens.
2. The office of the Prime Minister of India is in the South Block. Other departments of Government of India works from their offices around the South Block.
3. The Parliament House where the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha sessions are held is also in Delhi.
4. High Commissions and Embassies of foreign countries are also in Delhi.
5. Delhi also has a Legislative Assembly.


Delhi has an extreme climate. It is very hot in summer and very cold in winter. In summer, hot dry winds called loo blows. It gets rain during the monsoon months from July to September.


People from all parts of India live in Delhi. So we can see that people of Delhi wear all kinds of clothes. Men in Delhi mostly wear shirts, t-shirts, trousers and jeans. Women in Delhi mostly wear sari, salwar-kameez, t-shirt, trousers and jeans.

Tourist Places

Qutub Minar

Qutub Minar

Every year lakhs of people from all over India and the World visit Delhi. Delhi has many historical monuments. Some important monuments of Delhi are given below-

  • Red Fort and Jama Masjid. Both are built by Mughal emperor Shahjahan. Every year on 15th August, the Prime Minister of India hoists the National Flag at Red Fort.
  • Qutub Minar. It was built by Qutub-ud-din Aibak.
  • Jantar Mantar.
  • India Gate. The Amar Jawan Jyoti at India Gate burns all the time in memory of the soldiers who sacrificed their lives for our country.
  • Humayun’s Tomb.
  • Raj Ghat (samadhi of Mahatma Gandhi) and Shanti Van (samadhi of Jawaharlal Nehru).
  • National Zoological Park.

Important religious temples are also there in Delhi. Some of them are Akshardham Temple, Lotus Temple, Jama Masjid, Birla Mandir, and St James Church.

About the author